Genoa holds 2014 reorganization session; Carfagna and Gebhardt start second terms

By Lenny C. Lepola

January 22, 2014

During Genoa Township’s Thursday, January 9, annual re-organization meeting at the Genoa Township Hall, Genoa Fiscal Officer Pat Myers swore-in trustees Rick Carfagna and Karl Gebhardt for their second terms in office. Both were originally elected in November 2009 and were re-elected during the November 2013 election running unopposed.

Trustee Carfagna was selected to serve as 2014 Chair of the Genoa Township Board of Trustees; Gebhardt will serve as Vice-Chair.

In other business, the trustees reviewed existing policies, set employee salaries and handled numerous details regarding the operations of the township that are required by state statute to be approved at the start of each calendar year. This included approval of zoning application fees and rental fees for township facilities.

The trustees also approved the annual mileage certification, listing 88.35 miles of township roads.

Trustee Carfagna was appointed as the township representative to the Delaware General Health District Advisory Council.

Genoa Assistant Administrator and Zoning Inspector Joe Clase was appointed as the township representative on the Delaware County Regional Planning Commission (DCRPC): Gebhardt was appointed as the DCRPC alternate.

Carfagna will sit on the Genoa Township Investment Committee, Gebhardt was appointed to the Genoa Township Finance and Audit Committee.

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Genoa Township Board of Trustees is 7 p.m. next Thursday, January 23, in the Genoa Township Hall.

An updated list of meetings is available on the Genoa Township website at < >.

The Genoa Township Administrative Offices are located at the Genoa Township Hall, 5111 South Old 3C Highway, Westerville. They are regularly open to the public Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Genoa Township Offices will be closed on Monday, January 20, in observance of Martin Luther King, Jr. Day.