Ohio State Reformatory releases 2017 Ghost Hunt, Ghost Walk dates


Staff Report



MANSFIELD – The infamous Ohio State Reformatory in Mansfield, Ohio has announced dates for its 2017 Ghost Hunts® and Ghost Walks®. The popular overnight Ghost Hunts were named one of the Travel Channel’s “101 Things to do before you die.” These unusual nocturnal experiences are a hit with anyone interested in paranormal activity — or travelers simply seeking a truly unusual getaway.

Built in 1886, The Ohio State Reformatory (OSR) served for 94 years as a working prison, housing more than 154,000 prisoners and setting the scene for major motion pictures, including The Shawshank Redemption, Air Force One and others. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the prison boasts the world’s largest free-standing steel cell block and is known as the ultimate place to ghost hunt.

The Ghost Hunts® offer an overnight experience for those with serious interest in paranormal activity. They have grown dramatically in popularity, with spots selling out months in advance. Admission is $70/person and all proceeds from the hunts go directly to restore the incredible architecture of this important historical structure. Ghost Hunts® are now open to visitors 18 years of age and older. Travelers can book Ghost Hunts by visiting ohiostatereformatory.org or by calling 419-522-2644.

April dates: Fri., Apr. 14, Sat., Apr. 22

May dates: Sat., May 6, Sat., May 20

June dates: Sat., June 3, Sat., June 17, Sat., June 24, Fri., June 30

July dates: Sat., July 8, Fri., July 21, Sat., July 29

August dates: Sat., Aug. 12, Sat., Aug. 19

September dates: Sat., Sep. 2

Ghost Walks® feature knowledgeable tour guides leading guests through the dark halls and corridors of the reformatory, highlighting spots where paranormal activity has been reported, while sharing stories of eerie experiences, murder and death. Dates for 2017 Ghost Walks are:

Friday, April 21

Friday, April 28

Friday, May 5

Friday, June 9

Friday, June 23

Friday, July 7

Friday, July 28

Friday, August 11

Friday, September 1

http://aimmedianetwork.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/48/2017/03/web1_mansfield-reformatory.jpg

Staff Report

A destination unlike any other, Mansfield and Richland County, Ohio offers unusual travel adventures and experiences, world-class motorsports, skiing, hiking, biking, golf, and loads of other outdoor adventures attract families and visitors of all ages. Complete visitor information and free visitors guide is available at DestinationMansfield.com or by calling 800-642-8282 or by searching “Destination Mansfield” on Facebook and Twitter.

A destination unlike any other, Mansfield and Richland County, Ohio offers unusual travel adventures and experiences, world-class motorsports, skiing, hiking, biking, golf, and loads of other outdoor adventures attract families and visitors of all ages. Complete visitor information and free visitors guide is available at DestinationMansfield.com or by calling 800-642-8282 or by searching “Destination Mansfield” on Facebook and Twitter.