Gochenour returns to vacated seat

Last updated: January 22. 2014 12:51PM - 300 Views
By Lenny C. Lepola newsguy@ee.net

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Political subdivisions statewide begin each year with a reorganization session. During reorganization meetings rules of operation and conduct are adopted, officers are selected, committee appointments made, and a host of other tasks undertaken that allow a council or board to operate during the year ahead.

As 2013 drew to a close the terms in office for four Sunbury Village Council members ended. Council member Tom Zalewski’s term in office expired; and Council members Dave Miller, Scott Weatherby and Joe Gochenour were each sitting at the dais filling seats vacated by resignations – they needed to be elected to office.

Weatherby and Miller sought election to full terms as Council members; Gochenour had decided not to go on the ballot for a full term in office, leaving one Council seat vacant that Council members had to fill.

Because Council had only two voting members seated, before January’s Sunbury Village Council meeting was more than a few minutes old the newly-elected Council members needed to be sworn into office before there was a quorum to select a candidate to fill the vacant Council seat.

Four resumes were submitted for the open seat on Council - Brandon Clay, Benjamin Hoyar, James Kahrl and, at the last minute, Gochenour tossed his hat back in the ring.

Gochenour was selected by paper ballot to fill the seat he vacated at midnight on December 31. In addition to serving on Village Council Gochenour serves as an at-large member of the Village of Sunbury Planning & Zoning Commission.

Council member Len Weatherby was selected to serve as Council’s President Pro Tem; and Council Rules were adopted as is, with an agreement to talk about Council Rules changes sometime during the year ahead at one of Council’s committees of the whole — either the Finance Committee or the 139 Committee.

Council’s committee assignments remain relatively unchanged.

Sunbury Village Council’s Finance Committee, a committee of the whole of council, will continue to meet at 6:30 p.m. on the third Wednesday of every month in Sunbury Town Hall third floor Council chambers.

Council’s Services Committee, responsible for building maintenance, streets, and sanitary and storm sewers, meets at 6:30 p.m. on the first Wednesday of every month in third floor Council Chambers. Len Weatherby, Zalewski and Council member Jennifer Witt will sit on Services.

Parks Committee, responsible for parks, village activities, safety and the village cemetery, will continue to meet at 6:30 p.m. on the first Wednesday of each month on the second floor of Town Hall. Council members Miller, Scott Weatherby and Gochenour will sit on Parks.

Miller, Gochenour and Witt sit on Council’s Technology Committee that’s responsible for village website policies and procedures and village technology recommendations. Council’s Tech Committee meets as needed.

Miller will serve as Big Walnut Local School District Board of Education liaison, with Len Weatherby and Sunbury Mayor Tommy Hatfield serving as alternates. The board of education meets at 6:30 p.m. on the second Thursday of each month at Big Walnut High School Media Center unless an alternate location is announced.

Zalewski will continue to serve as Sunbury’s representative on the BST&G Fire District Board of Trustees, with Scott Weatherby serving as alternate.

Both Len and Scott Weatherby will represent Sunbury at Delaware County Regional Planning Commission meetings.

Miller, the Village Clerk, Myers Inn Curator Polly Horn and David Brehm sit on the Village Records Committee that meets two times each year, meeting dates to be determined.

Len Weatherby and Gochenour will continue to serve as members of the Village of Sunbury Planning & Zoning Commission. Len Weatherby will be Council’s zoning representative, Gochenour will continue as an at-large Zoning Commission member. As Mayor, Hatfield also serves as a voting member of Zoning. The Zoning Commission meets at 7 p.m. on the fourth Monday of each month.

Council’s ad hoc 139 Committee that oversees employee and employment issues will meet as needed and is a committee of the whole of council.

Witt, Miller and Scott Weatherby sit on the ad hoc Health, Property and Liability Insurance Committee that meets as needed.

The ad hoc Council Rules Committee is a committee of the whole and meets as needed.

Miller sits on the Village of Sunbury/Big Walnut Local School District Joint Venture Board that meets the second Thursday of the month prior to the school board meeting if needed. Hatfield serves as alternate.

Hatfield and Len Weatherby will represent Sunbury at Delaware County Local Government Association bimonthly meetings.

Sunbury Village Council will continue to meet at 7:30 p.m. on the first and third Wednesday of every month in third floor council chambers, Sunbury Town Hall. In months with five Wednesdays on the calendar Council members will hold a meeting on the fifth Wednesday, unless formally cancelled by a motion and a vote at a previous Council session.

All Sunbury Village Council and Council committee meetings are open to the public.

Sunbury’s website is located at < sunburyvillage.com >.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Sunbury Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com