Newly Designated STEM and STEAM Schools

Ohio Department of Education

Ohio’s STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) Committee recently approved 11 new STEM and STEAM (science, technology, engineering, arts and mathematics) schools for next school year that will focus on inquiry and a design-thinking approach to science, technology, engineering, mathematics, the arts and humanities.

The newly designated schools include:


Bishop Flaget School (Ross County)

Boulevard Elementary School (Cuyahoga County)

Gesu Catholic School (Cuyahoga County)

Graham Elementary School (Champaign County)

Graham Middle School (Champaign County)

Lander Elementary School (Cuyahoga County)

Orchard STEM School (Cuyahoga County)

Saint Joseph School (Lorain County)

I Promise School (Summit County)


Southdale Elementary School (Montgomery County)

STEAMM Academy @ Hartford Middle School (Stark County)

Saint Ambrose School (Medina County) *This school previously was designated as a STEM school.

Proposals for STEM schools must include the following:

Evidence of a working partnership with both public and private entities, including higher education entities and business organizations;

Evidence that the school submitting the proposal will offer a rigorous, diverse, integrated and project-based curriculum to students in any of grades kindergarten through 12, with the goal to prepare those students for college, the workforce, and citizenship and that:

Emphasizes the role of science, technology, engineering and mathematics in promoting innovation and economic progress and incorporates scientific inquiry and technological design;

Includes the arts and humanities; and

Emphasizes personalized learning and teamwork skills.

New this year, proposals for STEAM schools also must specifically demonstrate how the curriculum will integrate arts and design into the study of science, technology, engineering and mathematics to foster creative thinking, problem-solving and new approaches to scientific invention.

The STEM Committee approves the designations. The committee consists of the superintendent of public instruction, representatives from the departments of Higher Education and Development and four appointed members of the public with expertise in business or STEM fields.

About the Ohio Department of Education

The Ohio Department of Education oversees the state’s public education system, which includes public school districts, joint vocational school districts and charter schools. The Department also monitors educational service centers, other regional education providers, early learning and child care programs, and private schools. The Department’s tasks include administering the school funding system, collecting school fiscal and performance data, developing academic standards and model curricula, administering the state achievement tests, issuing district and school report cards, administering Ohio’s voucher programs, providing professional development, and licensing teachers, administrators, treasurers, superintendents and other education personnel. The Department is governed by the State Board of Education with administration of the Department the responsibility of the superintendent of public instruction.

Ohio Department of Education