Program helps manufacturers

Ohio Helping Manufacturers Grow with Technology

Supporting Advanced Manufacturing Projects

The Advanced Manufacturing Program (AMP) helps Ohio manufacturers increase productivity, growth and competitiveness. The program provides funding for Ohio research institutions and other nonprofit organizations to partner with the state’s small and medium-sized manufacturers to adopt advanced manufacturing technologies.

“Ohio is a leader in manufacturing innovation,” said David Goodman, director of the Ohio Development Services Agency (ODSA). “We are committed to helping Ohio manufacturers find new ways to stay competitive and create jobs.”

The following projects have been funded through the AMP program:

  • Case Western Reserve University, located in the city of Cleveland (Cuyahoga County), was awarded $200,000 to use 3D printing to improve the cooling properties of molds used to shape molten metal.
  • Center for Innovative Food Technology (CIFT), located in the city of Toledo (Lucas County), was awarded $236,347 to demonstrate the use of additive manufacturing in custom medical therapeutic devices.
  • EWI, located in the city of Columbus (Franklin County), was awarded $250,000 to accelerate the adoption of advanced inspection technologies for lightweight stamped parts by auto supply chain companies. The parts are used by auto supply chain companies and this will speed up the process.
  • University of Dayton (FASTLANE), located in the city of Dayton (Montgomery County), was awarded $250,000 to create an open-source analysis platform for industrial sensors that can be downloaded for free by any manufacturer.

The AMP program is funded by the State of Ohio and supported by local businesses and communities. AMP supplements the Ohio Manufacturing Extension Partnership (Ohio MEP), which helps Ohio’s small and medium-sized manufacturers to increase sales, create jobs and generate cost savings through technological innovation, workforce training and improved management practices.

Marion Technical College Awarded Innovation Grant

Marion Technical College (MTC) has been awarded an Innovation Grant by the Ohio Department of Higher Education. This grant is a part of Governor John Kasich’s higher education strategies to enhance the quality of higher education while making it more affordable for students to receive an education.

“The projects supported by these innovation grants will directly impact students as they pursue a successful future in college and their career of choice,” said Chancellor John Carey. “The projects will explore the implementation of competency-based education, support peer-to-peer mentor programs, and help students earn an associate degree before they graduate from high school, to name just a few highlights.”

Marion Technical College is receiving a grant of $350,000 to expand their Graduate Pathways to Success (GPS) program. In 2016, MTC partnered with the Marion City Schools to implement the GPS program. This initiative identifies economically disadvantaged youth while in the 8th grade and sets them on a path to earn an associate degree by the time they graduate from high school by utilizing the College Credit Plus program, thereby earning a degree without incurring any debt. Employers, including Honda of America, Whirlpool, and OhioHealth, have been directly involved in the GPS program development and have committed to provide employment opportunities for students who complete the program.

The GPS program is a long term approach to improving post-secondary degree attainment, and ensuring graduates have skills for in-demand jobs in Marion and surrounding communities. The curriculum pathway includes college coursework in all four high school grades, with integrated coaching and interventions. Students can choose from one of three pathways – engineering, medical assisting or the Associate of Arts pathway. The GPS program was launched thanks to the Marion Community Foundation who provided the initial grant funding.

Schools receiving awards are Bowling Green State University, Columbus State Community College, Hiram College, Marion Technical College, North Central State College, Shawnee State University, and Sinclair Community College.

Founded in 1970, Marion Technical College (MTC) is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and authorized by the state of Ohio to offer local educational options for citizens of seven north-central Ohio counties including Crawford, Delaware, Hardin, Marion, Morrow, Union and Wyandot. The mission of MTC is to provide the region’s most accessible, supportive, and personal pathway to career success.

.neFileBlock {
margin-bottom: 20px;
.neFileBlock p {
margin: 0px 0px 0px 0px;
.neFileBlock .neFile {
border-bottom: 1px dotted #aaa;
padding-bottom: 5px;
padding-top: 10px;
.neFileBlock .neCaption {
font-size: 85%;

Staff Reports

To learn more about Ohio MEP, visit: