DELAWARE COUNTY Population continues to grow


By Gary Budzak -

In 25 years, the county’s population will have doubled from what it was in 2000, according to an annual report issued by the Delaware County Regional Planning Commission.

“We are projecting that Delaware County will reach 200,000 within the next year,” said executive director Scott B. Sanders in an email. The county total, based on the report, is currently 198,651 people.

The 2000 U.S. census counted 109,989 people in the county. The most recent census, in 2010, saw the population increase to 174,214.

From April 2010 to the end of 2015, the county added 20,819 people for an estimated 195,033, the report said. From 2010 to 2015, the county has experienced a 12 percent increase in population.

“Delaware County has rejoined the 100 Fastest-Growing U.S. Counties from April 2010-July 2015,” the report said. It is also the fastest-growing county in the state of Ohio.

The commission projects the county’s population will be 212,528 at the end of 2020 (an increase of 9 percent); 229,373 at the end of 2025 (an 8 percent increase); and 244,513 at the end of 2030 (6.6 percent growth).

Sanders also noted the communities with the highest growth rates from 2010-2016:

City of Columbus – 62 percent growth to population of 11,716 (within Delaware County);

Berkshire Township – 31 percent growth to pop. 3169;

Village of Ostrander – 37% growth to pop. 878;

Village of Galena – 20% growth to pop. 783;

Village of Sunbury – 17% growth to pop. 5,154

Sanders said the highest growth by number of residents added between 2010-2016 were:

City of Columbus – 4,471 (within Delaware County);

Orange Township – 3,787;

City of Delaware – 3,650;

Genoa Township – 2,277;

Liberty Township – 1,851;

City of Powell – 1,800;

City of Westerville – 1,455 (within Delaware County);

Concord Township – 1,380

The Delaware County Regional Planning Commission was established in 1961, and is the county’s statutory planning authority on local and regional projects. “It also serves as the subdivision platting authority in unincorporated areas” and serves “as a review agency for all rezonings within the unincorporated areas of the county,” the report said.

With the exception of Ashley, the county, as well as it’s municipalities and townships, has representatives and alternates on the commission. The commission is at 109 North Sandusky Street.

To see the report, which also has information on lot splits and transfers, visit:


By Gary Budzak

Gary Budzak may be reached at 740-413-0906 or on Twitter @GaryBudzak.

Gary Budzak may be reached at 740-413-0906 or on Twitter @GaryBudzak.