Genoa Township Narrows Field for Trustee Appointment

By Lenny C. Lepola -

Following the late November deadline for applications for the vacant seat at the Genoa Township trustee dais effective January 1 when Trustee Rick Carfagna begins serving as the Ohio House 68th District Representative, 23 potential candidates had stepped forward.

Applications were received from William Anders, Mark Atkeson, Amy Barr, James Carter, Steven Childers, Stephen Ciacchi, Kathy Davis, DebbieLee Dougherty, Brian Echard, Connie Goodman, Charles Grubb, Mark Harmon, Michael Irwin, Geoffrey Hetrick, James Kresge, Jeffrey Lear, Annette McMurry, Shawn Priebe, Carlos Requejo, Jill Rudler, Laura Segna, Renee Vaughn, and Melissa Yost.

During a Monday, December 5, executive session, trustees Karl Gebhardt and Frank Dantonio narrowed the field of applicants by selecting seven candidates to move on to the next step in the appointment process.

The seven finalists on the short list are: Dougherty, Goodman, Harmon, Hetrick, Priebe, Rudler, and Yost.

The trustees will meet in Special Session at 7 p.m. tonight (Thursday, December 15) in the Genoa Township Hall to allow candidates on the short list to make brief public presentations of no more than seven minutes each regarding their qualifications.

Each candidate will make a presentation only, without questions to the candidates from the trustees or the public. After finalist presentations are complete, Gebhardt and Dantonio will begin selection deliberations in executive session.

After an executive session, Gebhardt and Dantonio will return to public session and may offer a motion to appointment a candidate. If a preferred candidate is not identified, at their discretion and with mutual agreement, Gebhardt and Dantonio may reopen the process to identify additional candidates for appointment.

In the event Gebhardt and Dantonio fail to decide on a candidate within 30 days following a vacant seat at the trustee dais, Ohio Revised Code stipulates that Delaware County Court of Common Pleas Judge David Hejmanowski would select a candidate to fill the seat.

An updated list of Genoa Township meetings and activities is available on the township website at < >. The Genoa Township Hall and Administration Office is located at 5111 S. Old 3C Highway, Westerville. The township administration and zoning offices are regularly open to the public Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

By Lenny C. Lepola

Reporter Lenny C. Lepola can be reached at 614-266-6093.

Reporter Lenny C. Lepola can be reached at 614-266-6093.