BW 4-H area members, advisers recognized

By Lenny C. Lepola -

The 74th annual 4-H volunteer and member banquet was held on Monday, Nov. 16, at All Occasions Catering in Waldo.

The annual banquet recognizes Delaware County’s 56 4-H Clubs, 293 4-H club volunteers and 1,186 club members who completed 2,727 4-H projects during the past year.

Getting special recognition was Bill Thurston. Thurston has been a volunteer adviser of Ashley Junior Farmers 4-H Club for 63 years. His wife, Shirley, has served as adviser in the same club for 34 years.

Bill Thurston joined Ashley Junior Farmers 4-H Club in 1940, and as a club member began showing projects at the Delaware County Fair. Born and raised on a 129-acre family farmstead in Oxford Township, Thurston graduated from Ashley High School in 1948 and, in addition to being a dairy farmer and active 4-H adviser, has served in the past as an Oxford Township trustee.

Bill and Shirley Thurston’s daughters, Mary Fleming and Ann Rammelsburg, have been advisers for 23 and 15 years, respectively, with granddaughter, Fawn Ward, a five-year adviser.

Suzanne Allen and Donna Morton were recognized for 48 years of service as 4-H advisers. Additional Big Walnut area recognitions went to Sharon Souder (34 years), Myra Snider (31 years), Walter Morton (29 years), Kathryn St. James and Ruth Henney (26 years), Janet Hurr (24 years), Debbie Manring (23 years), Jim Hildreth and Charles St. Jean (22 years), and Joann Hingsbergen (21 years).

Heather Manring received a 10-year volunteer award; and five-year awards went to Jackie Buell, John Dible, Karen Dible and Debbie Dore.

J J’s E-Z Riders 4-H Club and Sunbury Halter and Saddle 4-H Club each received a Club Award, mainly for community service activities.

Heather Cade of Bit of Country 4-H Club received the Goat Award Pin. Kate Sherman of Eagle Country 4-H Club received a certificate for a Dairy Award. Kaitlin Meade of Kountry Kids 4-H Club had the Best Secretary Book; Allison Kiger of J J’s E-Z Riders 4-H Club received a certificate for third-place Secretary’s Book. Hallie McClintock of J J’s E-Z Riders 4-H Club had the second-place Treasurer’s Book.

The Susan Barger Memorial Horse Achievement Award was won by Alexandria Abbott of J J’s E-Z Riders 4-H Club and presented by Mr. Barger.

By Lenny C. Lepola

Reporter Lenny C. Lepola can be reached at 614-266-6093

Reporter Lenny C. Lepola can be reached at 614-266-6093